Mortgage Loan Originator

Mortgage Loan Originator's Course

Home Course Catalog Contact Us

Real Estate Licensing Real Estate CE Mortgage Loan  Insurance Licensing Insurance CE

Appraisal  Securities Exam Prep Forms FAQs

Mortgage Loan Originators Licensure Quick Facts

All new MLOs applicants must:

Register with the NMLS and obtain a unique ID Number

Successfully complete an NMLS approved 20-hour pre-license course

Pass both the NMLS administered National and State components of the SAFE test, or the National and Stand-alone UST components of the SAFE test, or National Test Component with Uniform State Content

Submit fingerprints to the NMLS during the license endorsement application process

Pass a FBI Criminal Background Check

Submit authorization for the NMLS to obtain a credit report

 

For more information, please visit the NMLS Resource Center.


California Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This education must include:

   a. 3 hours of Federal law;
   b. 3 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues);
   c. 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending; and
   d. for *CA-DRE licensees: 12 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives); or

       for **CA-DBO licensees: 10 hours of undefined education (referred to as electives) + 2 hours of CA-DBO law.

 

*The California DRE does not have a requirement for instruction on state-specific law.

 

**The California DBO has a requirement for 2 hours of instruction on state-specific laws which may be satisfied by either taking a CA-DBO comprehensive course or a state-specific elective course.

 


Renewal and Continuing Education Requirements

Every state-licensed MLO (in any approved status) is required to complete at least 8 hours of NMLS approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). Annual CE education must include:

   a. 3 hours of Federal law;
   b. 2 hours of ethics (which shall include fraud, consumer protection, and fair lending issues);
   c. 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending; plus
   d. for CA-DRE licensees: 1 hour of undefined education (referred to as an elective).; or

       for CA-DBO licensees: 1 hour of CA-DBO specific education (referred to as an elective).

The deadline to complete CE is December 31st of each year. MLOs with CA-DRE and/or CA-DBO are prohibited from submitting an application to renew their license if they have not completed CE. Since it may take as long as seven (7) days for a course provider to report a course completion into NMLS, MLOs are strongly encouraged not to wait until the last minute to try to complete CE or they may be prevented from submitting for renewal on time.

If you are having trouble using NMLS or need assistance in using it, phone the NMLS Call Center at (855) 665-7123.


Our Online Pre-Licensing Courses & Exam Preparation

We have teamed up with Cape School to give you an affordable and convenient way to learn and pass the MLO exam!

Our 20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive Principles of Mortgage Lending (includes UST material) Online Course is based on The Principles of Mortgage Lending textbook and satisfies the core pre-license educational requirements for mortgage loan originators as defined by the Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act of 2008 (SAFE Act). Upon successful completion of this course you will have a strong understanding of the mortgage loan originator industry and the laws that govern it. It is designed to allow students the convenience of studying at home or office, while having the opportunity to communicate with an instructor and other students who are progressing through the course at the same time. The course has a start date and an end date, study at the hours that fit your schedule. The course is divided into lessons, in topic order, as recommended by the NMLS. Features include: Chat, Message Boards, Audio/Visual Lesson Reviews to help retain information learned in each lesson, and interactive exercises developed to reinforce important material. Each lesson must be completed before proceeding to the next lesson. The student must complete all quizzes and exercises to complete the course, then pass a final exam with a score of 70% or better.

2 Hour CA SAFE: Guide to California Mortgage Law NMLS Course - This course is designed to satisfy the state law pre-license educational requirements for the Department of Business Oversight in the state of California. Upon successful completion of this course, you will have a strong understanding of the mortgage loan originator industry and the California laws that govern it. *This course is required for MLOs licensed by California-DBO

Principles of Mortgage Lending Textbook - This book was designed to meet the core criteria established by the SAFE Act for national mortgage loan originators.

NMLS TesTaker - Online Exam Simulator - Cape’s TESTPREP is an online exam simulator designed to help you pass your NMLS examination the first time! The Mortgage TESTPREP generates 125 question tests with the same ratio of questions/topics found on the NMLS exam. You may repeat any missed questions, or browse questions by topic. After answering each question, you will receive an in-depth explanation for the answer to the question. Once you have completed a test, you will receive your results showing pass percentages on each of the four topics. The topics are:
  - Federal Laws (35%)
  - General Knowledge (25%)
  - MLO Activities (25%)
  - Ethics (15%)

To register or find out more information about our MLO courses and exam preparation materials, please click here now!

 

 

Pricing

Course #

Course Materials

Price

CAMXDLWTXTCA-0

*Principles of Mortgage Lending Textbook

$41.65

USMXDLITESTP-6

Mortgage TESTPREP - Online Exam Simulator

$58.65

 

Pre-Licensing Classes

Price

 

20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive Principles of Mortgage Lending (Instructor Led Online) Basic Package

$241.65

 

20 Hour SAFE Comprehensive Principles of Mortgage Lending (Instructor Led Online) Professional Package with Online TESTPREP + Textbook + Exam Guarantee*

$296.15

 

 

2 Hour CA DBO SAFE: Guide to California Mortgage Law

$49

 

Continuing Education Courses

Price

 

8 Hour Online CE Requirement (Credits: 3 law, 2 ethics, 2 non-traditional, 1 elective) + Filing Fee

$61

 

8 Hour Live Instruction CE Requirement (Credits: 3 law, 2 ethics, 2 non-traditional, 1 elective) + Filing Fee **Please Call for Availability and Schedule**

$120

 

*Plus a shipping and handling charge of $10-$12


1168 San Gabriel Blvd. #J, Rosemead, CA 91770

 p: 626.571.0751 f: 626.571.0873

www.goldenhyde.com